Location: Southern Europe, south of Sicily (Italy)
Area: 320 kilometres squared
Coastline: 197 kilometres
Climate: Mediterranean with hot, dry, very sunny summers, warm, sporadically rainy autumns and short, cool winters
Geography: Malta is made up of an archipelago with 3 main islands (Malta, Gozo and Comino). 
Terrain: Malta is mostly low and rocky with coastal cliffs.  There are many natural harbours, bays, creeks,sandy beaches and rocky coves.
Capital city: Valletta
Airport: Luqa
Currency: Euro
Population: 408,333 people
Languages: Maltese (official), English (official)
Food: Strong Sicillian and English influences as well as Spanish, Maghrebin and Provencal


National Public Holidays:

1st January: New Year's Day
10th February: Feast of St Paul's Shipwreck
19th March: Feast of St Joseph
31st March: Freedom Day
6th April: Good Friday
1st May: Worker's Day
7th June: Sette Giugno
29th June: Feast of St Peter and St Paul
15th August: Feast of Assumption
8th September: Feast of Our Lady of Victories
21st September: Independance Day
8th December: Feast of Immaculate Conception
13th December: Republic Day
25th December: Christmas Day


Photographs in the right column are courtesy of Malta Tourism Authority
Photographs 1, 2, 3: Malta Tourism Authority
Photographs 4, 5:  Clive Vella
Photographs 6, 7, 8:  Peter Vanicsek